The Glen Earthman Outstanding Dissertation Award

The International Society for Educational Planning recognizes outstanding dissertations related to all aspects of educational planning. The Society will consider dissertations that have been completed between 2016 and 2018 that resulted in the award of a terminal degree.  We encourage the submission of dissertations on any aspect of educational planning.

Dissertations that deal with planning and program implementation on the international, state/provincial, regional, local and individual school or building levels are welcomed.  More than one award may be made at each annual meeting.  Individuals who have recently been conferred their doctoral degree may individually submit their dissertation for consideration.  The chairperson of the dissertation committee or any member of the committee also may recommend a dissertation for consideration.

Individuals who are chosen for recognition will be asked to make a presentation of their findings at the annual meeting.  In addition, these individuals will be asked to submit a manuscript to the Society’s journal, Educational PlanningTwo electronic versions of the dissertation, one full copy and one without identifying information, should be sent to facilitate distribution to the committee for a double-blind review.  Complete identification including name, address, phone number, and email address should accompany the dissertation on a separate page.   Deadline for submission is June 1, 2019. The recognized individual will be notified no later than July 15, 2019.  Interested candidates/nominees are encouraged to submit abstracts to:

Robert C. Johnson, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Ethnic and Women’s Studies
Principal Investigator, Access and Opportunity Project
Director, Pre-College Pipeline Programs
St. Cloud State University
St. Cloud, MN 56301

Winners of the Outstanding Dissertation Award

2015:  Maartje Van den Bogaard,  “Towards an Action-Oriented Model for First Year Engineering Students Success: A Mixed-Methods Approach”

2016:  Maria Bacharel , “In-Between Formality and Informality: Learning Spaces in University Context”

2017: David Veres, “A phenomenological understanding of the experience of academic administrators motivation, satisfaction, retention, and succession planning”

2018: Chris D. Hewitt,  “An Analytic Synthesis of Research Studies Dealing with the Relationship between Building Condition and Student Academic Achievement”